Election Results 2016: Left captures Kerala, AIADMK winning ahead in Tamil Nadu, TMC bags West Bengal with Lotus in Assam

The results to the four state assemblies held over the last two months are being declared today. The counting is in progress in all the four states simultaneously and the lead counts are slowly emerging.

As per the initial leads, AIADMK is gearing up to form the next government in Tamil Nadu with initial leads are in favour of the party. As of writing this, the party under the leadership of Jayalalitha has managed to cross the half way mark, while DMK far behind with 70 seats.

The People Welfare Front (PWF) projected film actor Vijayakanth as their chief ministerial candidate but they never managed to show any good performance. Even Vijayakanth himself seems to have lost. In the previous election, he managed to get 29 sets with Alliance from AIADMK.

Contested with high expectations, BJP only managed to show any negligible impact in Kerala with the Saffron party leading in only one seats. Even though former union minister O. Rajagopal is set to win from Nemom constituency, tight battle is going on in Palghat between Left, Congress and BJP with leads changing once in five minutes.

It remains to be seen as to whether BJP will win in Nemon since the counting is set to complete in few more wards. Meanwhile, the BJP State President Kummam Rajasekharan still have a ray of hope since he trails only in 800+ seats with counting in few more wards not yet complete.

Despite showing up great campaigning in Trivandrum and Vattiyorkavu, BJP most likely had to console themselves in the second spot with Cricketer Sreesanth making no impact among voters. The voted decided to give the State health minister VS Sivakumar another chance.

DONT MISS  Google Pixel 2 First Impressions: Features, Specifications and Price

Former Finance Minister KM Mani has won from his traditional bastion Play over 4500 votes. His colleague Mons Joseph also won over 30000 votes due to his clean image.

Another notable constituency in Kerala which were highly monitored by political experts is Poonjar near Kottayam where sitting MLA PC George all set to win. He didn’t get any support for either congress or left and still he managed to win by a comfortable margin.

Commenting on the results, Sashi Tharoor, MP from Thiruvanathapuram revealed that it’s too early to comment on the results since there is tough battle going on in few places. He agreed that Congress could have done better and put fault on the anti-incumbency factor.

As far as Assam is concerned, BJP is all set to form the government with the party winning around 80+ seats. This ends the 15 years old rule by Tarun Gogoi.

As expected, TMC managed to put a great performance in West Bengal despite Congress and Left joining hand together.

Latest Leads

Kerala: LDF – 84, UDF – 49, BJP+:1, Others: 1

Tamil Nadu: AIADMK: 134, DMK+: 80, Others: 6

West Bengal: TMC: 200, Left: 37, Congress: 42, BJP: 12, Others: 1

Puducherry: DMK+: 11, AIADMK: 0, AINRC: 8, Others: 1

The actual election results clearly reflect the trends projected by Exit Polls. While Exit Pools predicted win for DMK led alliance in Tamil Nadu, the trends were correct as far as Kerala is concerned.

The ruling BJP at the center, put up a great fight in Kerala with the party occupying second spot in majority of seats, while giving tough to congress in other places.

Anand Narayanaswamy is the editor-in-chief of Netans. He was recognized as a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) for 9 years (2002 to 2011) and currently part of MVP Reconnect program. He is also part of the prestigious ASPInsider program. Anand has published several articles and reviews related to various software and hardware products for various software and technology related websites. He is also active on social media and also participates as an Influencer for various brands. Anand can be reached at admin@netans.com