Google Integrates Local Currency For Play Store Apps In 9 Countries

Google Play Store

Google has added support for eight new currencies for the app listings on the Play Store. The list of countries includes Algeria, Bangladesh, Cambodia, Ghana, Kenya, Macau, Tanzania, and Sri Lanka. If you are located in any of the eight countries, you can purchase paid Android mobile apps using the local currency.

Even though people in these eight countries had access to Google Play Store, they were unable to make use of the local currency to purchase apps. It will avoid excess bank charges.

If a person purchases an Android app from the Play Store using an International credit card, then excess charges need to the paid in the form of bank charges. The addition of local currency support will help people to avoid extra service charges. In 2014, the search engine giant made a huge leap by adding a massive list of 25 countries.

According to Google, the Cambodia make use of Riel but customers will view the prices of the app in US Dollars. Moreover, the cost will appear in USD in countries such as Kuwait, Baharin, and Oman.

DONT MISS  Xiaomi rolls out Global MIUI 8.2 update with enhanced features

Anand Narayanaswamy is the editor-in-chief of Netans. He was recognized as a Microsoft Most Valuable Professional (MVP) for 9 years (2002 to 2011) and again as a Microsoft MVP in Surface under Windows and Devices in January 2024. He worked as a Chief Technical Editor with ASPAlliance and was part of ASPInsider program. Anand has published several articles and reviews related to various software and hardware products for various software and technology related websites. He is also active on social media and also participates as an Influencer for various brands. Anand can be reached at